SSSC 23 Digital – No.17 Open Educational Resources

I like the idea of Open Educational Resources being free and easily accessible for anyone to develop online learning, whether it’s to educate themselves or others. The fact that you could share any information from them does sound extremely handy, of course you do have to give recognition to the source that has provided it. I did find a few resources relating to early years and education of young children, including play pedagogy, child wellbeing and examples of activities in outdoor and music play. These resources may help me to look at different information on these topics that may enhance my practic. However, it did take me a couple of searches to find something of interest and I am not entirely convinced I would have found what I was looking for. An example was the Place, Pedagogy and Play book I found on OASIS. When I looked at the description, the book said it focused on children aged 10 to 11 who are outside the age range of the children I support. If you want to use what you have found for an assignment for a qualification, say a degree for example, you may not be able to reference the resource in the way the websites want you to. Every department in every university has a different way of referencing a resource.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started